The Bake-A-Holics Blog

Archive for December 19th, 2013

Every month we celebrate the birthdays in the office on one day, mostly because as much as we all love cake – a person can only eat SOO much of it. Seriously. Now my birthday being in October, I tend to get the most excited about what cakes we have for the October birthdays, and this year we opted to celebrate on Halloween (my favorite holiday). So, big surprise, I asked to make one of the cakes.

I found a picture of a 3 tier cake that had some fun colors and shadow cutouts, so using that as my inspiration – I came up with a single tier version (we don’t have THAT many employees for a cake that big!!), and because it’s a birthday cake… I thought I’d try sculpting a birthday Frankenstein’s Monster.

I was very happy with the cakeĀ  (spiced cake with apple jack and a spiced rum frosting), but my sculpting still leaves much to be desired. Still, other than looking like he’s about to fall over asleep (or drunk), Bday Frankie turned out alright.

Cake in progress, me mostly having fun making little ghosts.

ghost_progress

Completed cake, with some fence piping. It always amazing me how much food coloring it takes to make not-gray frosting.

frankie2

And the final cake! Yes indeed, it was a very happy “Boo-thday” for all!

frankie1

 

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

Categories